RetirementRevised
RetirementRevised
A conversation with Bev Jones on the balance between work, retirement and happiness
0:00
-16:11

A conversation with Bev Jones on the balance between work, retirement and happiness

Beverly Jones

If you’re wondering whatever happened to my podcast - wonder no more.

I put the program on hold last spring while I worked on the manuscript for my new book about retirement, which will be published in January 2022. I finished up the book just before Thanksgiving, - and this week the program is back. You can expect new episodes every so often this year.

Let’s kick it off with a conversation about career reinvention and retirement. My guest is Beverly Jones, author of the new book, Find Your Happy at Work: 50 Ways to Get Unstuck, Move Past Boredom and Discover Fulfillment.

Bev is an author, speaker, podcaster and career coach. She’s a master of career reinvention herself - she started out working in television in radio, and went on to earn and MBA and a law degree. You can catch her program, Jazzed About Work, wherever you get your podcasts.

Bev’s book explores ways to find meaning in your work. That’s a theme I’ve written about often, because I think it’s so important as a component of a successful retirement plan. The research tells us that many people wind up retiring earlier than they expected, either due to a job loss or health problem - but sometimes it’s just plain burnout.

I asked Bev to connect the dots between her findings about happiness on the job - and in retirement. Click the player icon above to listen to our conversation; you also can find it on Apple Podcasts and Stitcher.

Note: The show had been available on Spotify, but the Joe Rogan controversy prompted me to rethink that. Pulling my little podcast won’t matter even a bit to Spotify, but I’ll sleep better. By the way, anyone looking for a new streaming platform should consider Tidal’s Hi-Fi service. Your ears will thank you.

What I’m reading

43% of Americans over age 65 have not received a vaccine booster, far less than other developed countries . . . The 4% drawdown rule might not work . . . Use the Social Security mailing list to promote vaccines . . . Old age and creativity.

0 Comments
RetirementRevised
RetirementRevised
Journalist and author Mark Miller on getting retirement right - featuring downloadable guides and podcast interviews with nationally-recognized experts.